Telecommunicators Recognized with Two Awards

NEWS RELEASE 22-028 - MAY 6, 2022
05-03-22 APCO Awards

Front row from left: Operator Tia Brand, Operator Keri Halpin, Supervisor Cindy Bresse, Supervisor Kristen Williams,
Operator Christine Peterson, Operator Kathleen Mitchell, Operator Katie Herwig, and Operator Christina Valderrama.
Back row from left: Manager Michael Speigle, Captain Daniel Tutko, Sheriff Kurt A. Hoffman,
Major Jon Goetluck, Colonel Brian Woodring, and Lieutenant Arik Smith.

Sheriff Kurt A. Hoffman is pleased to announce several members of the Emergency Operations Bureau were recognized Tuesday by the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO).

During the annual conference held by the Florida Chapter of APCO, Emergency Operations Supervisor Cindy Bresse received the 2021 Supervisor of the Year Award, while the agency’s Incident Dispatch Team received the 2021 Team of the Year Award. Bresse joined the sheriff’s office in 2014 as a Communications Operator and promoted to her current rank in 2020. She is one of eight supervisors assigned to the Public Safety Communications Center and completed APCO’s Registered Public Safety Leader and Certified Public Safety Executive programs in 2021. The Incident Dispatch Team (IDT) is comprised of nine part-time members who also serve in full-time positions within the Emergency Operations Bureau. The IDT functions as a specialized communications support team who responds during major events and incidents. In 2021, the IDT responded to a total of 20 separate incidents including widespread flooding due to Hurricane Elsa and a large-scale missing person search involving seven local and federal agencies.

“I am incredibly proud of our Emergency Operations Bureau personnel," said Sheriff Hoffman. “This group exemplifies the highest level of public service, and their recognition is well-deserved.”